Training specialists in electrical and energetic domains in Craiova began in 1951 when the Institute of Electrical Machines and Appliances was founded, comprising the Faculty of Electrotechnics, and then, in 1953, the Faculty of Industrial, Agricultural and Transportation Electrification, as well.

Following the 1957 protests in Hungary, the number of places in faculties dropped significantly, and the Institute of Electrical Machines and Appliances (which had been renamed “The Technical Institute” in 1956) was dissolved, the students and teachers being transferred to the faculties of the Polytechnic Institute in Bucharest.

In 1956 the Faculties of Mathematics, Chemistry, Economics, Electrotechnics, Agronomy and Horticulture were reunited under a single name, The University of Craiova. The technical higher education at The University of Craiova really started a year later, in the summer of 1966, when the first entrance examination was organised.

In the academic year 1966 – 1967 the Faculty of Electrotechnics began its activity, having 110 students registered in the first year, 60 at the department of Electrical Machines and Appliances and 50 at the department of Automatics.

In 1990, the increasing number of candidates led to a new organizational formula, the Faculty of Electrotechnics being divided into two technical faculties: the Faculty of Electromechanical Engineering (later renamed the Faculty of Electromechanical Engineering, Environment and Industrial Informatics) and the Faculty of Automatics and Computers.

In 2011, in order to better adapt to the requirements of the labour market, the Faculty of Electrotechnics and the Electromechanical Engineering, Environment and Industrial Informatics reunited under the name of the Faculty of Electrical Engineering.

The Faculty of Electrical Engineering currently consists of two departments which work together to professionally train students according to the labour market trends. The faculty has adopted the European Credit Transfer System, providing students training at all three levels: Bachelor’s Degree (4-year studies), Master Degree (2-year studies) and PhD (3-year studies). The domains covered by the study programmes are: Electrical Engineering, Electrical Power Engineering, Aerospace Engineering and Environmental Engineering.